Programming, Music, Games. Creation.

2bit, 8bit, 10bit, 16bit

What is 2bit, 8bit, 10bit, 16bit?

2 bit (binary) means that only 2 digits are used to express numbers.
it goes same for 8,10,16.
8 bit (octect) uses 8 digits to express numbers,
10 bit (decimal) uses 10 digits to express numbers and same goes for 16(hexadecimal).

**Mistake in the picture
The picture shows each binary’s number expressing range.
10 bit is the ordinary numbers that we use.
( Of course we don’t put ‘9+3=b’ or ‘1001+11=1100’in math exam ! )
16 bit needs 16 ‘digits’ to express numbers but numbers only have 10 digits.
Therefore letter a, b, c, d, e, f is used together.

2bit 0 1 10 11 100 101 111 1000
10bit 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

The word in Italics is where cipher increases.

For 10bit, cipher increaes after 9, because 9 is the maximum way to express number for one cipher.
Same thing goes foe 2bin. 1 is maximum way to express number for one cipher, therefore ‘0’ is added at the back.

10bit 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17
16bit 9 a b c d e f 10 11

The chart is comparing 10bit and 16bit.
As told before, 16bit can express from 0 to f so only after f, cipher is added.

** Back then I directly translated the knowledge I knew in Korean into English, which resulted in 2 binary, 10 binary etc (lol.. I dont think its even direct translation thinking of it now. Huge mistake)

Editied 13/2/14 : Changed ‘bin’ into ‘bit’ to make more sense.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s